Integration illustration with figures hand-in-hand facing a jigsaw puzzle and a piece to slot in.

Integrated Care System (ICS)

Integrated care systems (ICSs) are partnerships of organisations that come together to plan and deliver joined-up health and care services, and to improve the lives of people who live and work in their area.

Following several years of locally-led development, recommendations of NHS England and passage of the Health and Care Act (2022), 42 ICSs were established across England on a statutory basis on 1 July 2022.

An ICS includes:

  • Integrated Care Partnership (ICP)
  • Integrated Care Board (ICB)
  • Local authorities
  • Place-based partnerships
  • Provider collaboratives

The purpose is to bring partner organisations together to improve heath outcomes, tackle inequalities, and support social and economic development. Collaborating as an ICS to tackle complex challenges.

London has five ICSs:

  • North Central London
  • North East London (which includes Barking & Dagenham)
  • North West London
  • South East London
  • South West London

Return to main Interests page